A Book Review: I Finally Read The Da Vinci Code

I read for the first time Dan Brown’s famous novel The Da Vinci Code (2006).

I have been thinking about the way to write this post for a few days now. I’ve tried to several times, and every time I felt like I was just regurgitating some boring old clichés.

I have never read anything quite like it before.

It was fast-paced and had a lot of suspense.

Dan Brown’s work is a masterpiece.

I have learned so many new things about art and Leonardo Da Vinci, and Paris, and culture in general in the novel!

Blah, blah, blah. I can’t seem to come up with anything that someone hasn’t already said about this critically acclaimed novel, and that’s probably due to the fact that I’m the last person in the world to read it. It sure seems like everybody already has!

20160813_113053

Those cliché statements I stated above are true, though. I mean, I often hear about the same things being said about a same novel. For example, that The Fault in Our Stars was touching and romantic. It is said so many times that I almost assume those things to be untrue, and I expect the hype to be overstated. (By the way, The Fault in Our Stars, despite the fact that I’m not a fan of Young Adult Fiction, was both touching and romantic.) When I read the seemingly “overhyped” book, and it turns out that it’s just as awesome as people say, I find it shocking.

All that to say that I found The Da Vinci Code to be awesome. It was not only a fast-paced book with plenty of suspense (cue eye-rolling) but it was also a very intellectual novel. This statement might seem irrelevant to some, as the sole act of reading is considered to be intellectual, but not every book has an intellectual premise. This book was culturally riveting and made me feel like I was sitting in a stimulating and interesting history class. I love reading a book that glorifies the importance of art and history in society.

All of the praise aside, I did guess one of the plot twists of the novel. Skip the next two paragraphs if you didn’t read it yet, and, like me, you were late to the Da Vinci Code party.

I guessed the part in which it is revealed that Teabing was The Teacher after all. I don’t know how, because I usually never guess plot twists, but I did at one point get the idea that it had to be him. It didn’t ruin the book for me, though, like other plot twists could, because the book’s biggest mystery has nothing to do with the identity of The Teacher. I guessed nothing of Sophie’s family reunion at the end, and guessed nothing of the outcome of the quest for the Holy Grail. I guessed one of the small twists, and I didn’t mind at all. Plus, it wasn’t like I was 100%, with no doubt, certain about The Teacher’s identity: I just had a mere idea that happened to be true.

The only thing I really disliked about the novel was the terrible ending, but I thought about it and I think that it is only realistic that a quest for the Holy Grail would finish like it did in Da Vinci Code. I was just terribly disappointed because the novel felt like an epic build-up for a crazy, unfathomable ending that was going to make me think for days. The ending wasn’t even a cliff-hanger. The book didn’t even stop abruptly, like some do. It just… faded away slowly, like a boat disappearing from the sight of the shore onto the sea. Obviously, I don’t quite know how to put my feelings about the end of the book into words.

I know that more books follow The Da Vinci Code. I’m just saying that after reading this book, I’m not even that much excited to read the next one.

Aside from that, the book is a masterpiece of researched information, factual accuracy, culture, art and an age-old mystery with themes of religion, belief and hope. Its smooth writing combined with impeccable cliff hangers at the end of each chapter made the reading of The Da Vinci Code a captivating, tumultuous ride.

 

 

Leave a Reply

